Riverview School District


Cedarcrest FFA Students Celebrate National FFA Week

by Michael Ward

(L-R): Darby Day - FFA President, Jeanne Carver - Imperial Yarn, creator of the USA Olympic Sweaters
Aaron Kussman - FFA Sentinel

The Cedarcrest High School Future Farmers of America (FFA) Chapter got an early jump on the Cedarcrest's Magnanimous Month, celebrating National FFA Week the final week of February 2014. This year's theme was "Ignite" and more than 80 years of FFA traditions were celebrated, with an eye on the   organization's future. More than 500,000 members participated in National FFA Week activities at local, state and national levels.

Designated as National FFA Week in 1947, the week of George Washington's birthday is FFA Week, and runs from Saturday to Saturday. FFA Week gives chapter members an opportunity to educate the public about agriculture. During the week, chapters conduct a variety of activities to help others in their schools and communities learn about FFA and agricultural education.

Today's FFA members are proving to be innovators and leaders of tomorrow. Through agricultural and hands-on learning, they are preparing for more than 300 career opportunities in the food, fiber and natural resources industry.

Locally, Cedarcrest FFA students arranged and took part in dress up days, staff appreciation events, a visit to Tolt Middle School to educate middle schoolers on the organization, a chapter member bar-be-cue took place and guest speakers were arranged to speak in agricultural classes.
National FFA Week is sponsored by Tractor Supply Company as a special project of the National FFA Foundation. Cedarcrest FFA would like to give a special thank you to Redmond QFC, Dog Mountain Farm, Cherry Valley Dairy, Tolt Yarn & Wool, and Duvall True Value Hardware. 

The National FFA Organization provides leadership, personal growth and career success training through agricultural education to 579,678 student members in grades seven through 12 who belong to one of 7,570 local FFA chapters throughout the U.S., Puerto Rico and the Virgin Islands.