Riverview School District


Cedarcrest Students Reflect By Believing, Dreaming, and Inspiring

by Michael Ward

The annual Reflections arts contest is one of the most popular annual events in the Riverview School District and the number of students who participated in designing art of all kinds has never been higher. By creating and submitting pieces with the theme "Believe, Dream, Inspire", students created art in the categories of Visual Arts, Music, Dance, Literature, Photography, and Film. Individual school chairs sought community members and experts to evaluate and score the student submissions and more than 60 pieces were selected to compete at the District-level competition this past winter.

In a ceremony held at the Riverview School District's District Office, 29 students were selected as finalists to compete at the State Reflections competition.

The National PTA Reflections program is PTA's cornerstone arts program. It was developed in 1969 by Colorado's PTA President Mary Lou Anderson to encourage students to explore their talents and express themselves. Each year, students in Grades Pre-K through 12 are recognized for bringing the specific year's theme to life.

The names of the state finalists from the Riverview School District are listed below. Congratulations to all the students who participated and received recognition in this year's Reflections competition.

Riverview School District – State-Competition Finalists


Outstanding Interpretation:
Allan Muharskay, 2nd Grade, Cherry Valley Elementary
Taylor Amble, 8th Grade, Tolt Middle School
Alyssa Rothlisberger, 4th Grade, Stillwater Elementary
Stephanie Dewar, Junior, Cedarcrest High School

Award Of Excellence:
Dylan Siko, 2nd Grade, Stillwater Elementary
Benny Benson, 8th Grade, Tolt Middle School
Gavin Loukusa, 3rd Grade, Eagle Rock Multi-Age
Lisa O'Connor, Senior, Cedarcrest High School

Award Of Merit:
Erika Stickles, Senior, Cedarcrest High School


Outstanding Interpretation:
Kaitlyn Polhemus, 2nd Grade, Eagle Rock Multi-Age
Adam Polhemus, 5th Grade, Eagle Rock Multi-Age
Thitiya Astleford, 7th Grade, Tolt Middle School


Outstanding Interpretation:
Maya Bhavsar, 3rd Grade, Carnation Elementary

Award Of Excellence:
Katie Summers, 2nd Grade, Carnation Elementary
Sage Overman, 5th Grade, Carnation Elementary


Outstanding Interpretation:
Grace Correll, 1st Grade, Carnation Elementary
Sydney Krueger, Sophomore, Cedarcrest High School
Claire Thompson, 5th Grade, Carnation Elementary
Berrit Stow, 7th Grade, Tolt Middle School

Award Of Excellence:
Natalie Hillestad, 1st Grade, Stillwater Elementary
Leanna Henion, 8th Grade, Tolt Middle School

Outstanding Interpretation:
Kainoa Holt, 3rd Grade, Stillwater Elementary

Award Of Excellence:
Daniel Lee, 5th Grade, Cherry Valley Elementary

Outstanding Interpretation:
Josiah Orchard, 2nd Grade, Carnation Elementary
Isabel Jones, 3rd Grade, Carnation Elementary
Ellie Chaffin, 8th Grade, Tolt Middle School

Award Of Excellence:
Brooks Sammarco, 1st Grade, Eagle Rock Multi-Age
Clayton Kristiansen, 7th Grade, Tolt Middle School
Juliet Tobler, 3rd Grade, Cherry Valley Elementary