Riverview School District


Taste Washington Day Celebrated in Riverview Schools

Kaye Wetli, SNS, Supervisor of Food Services

Cedarcrest FFA students hand out fresh vegetables at Eagle Rock Multi-Age on Taste Washington Day 2013

The Riverview School District Food Services Department, in partnership with the Washington School Nutrition Association and the Washington State Department of Agriculture Farm-to-School Program, celebrated Washington agriculture in our schools on September 25, 2013 with Taste Washington Day.

The Food Services Department worked with local farmers to bring students a great meal made with locally grown produce from Full Circle Farm, Oxbow Farm and Local Roots Farm to feature what is grown right here in the Snoqualmie Valley. The produce was served on the salad bars at all schools during lunch, and the FFA members from Cedarcrest High School were on hand in the cafeterias to share samples of locally grown produce (picked fresh just days prior) with students. Samples of the shared produce included: carrots, radishes, cucumbers, Romano beans, and baby lettuce.

The Food Services Department also offered students a delicious chocolate brownie made from Shepherd's Grain flour.  Shepherd's Grain is a group of 33 family wheat farmers in the Pacific Northwest and the wheat is milled in Spokane.

In preparation for Taste Washington Day, Cedarcrest FFA members and Horticulture students spent many hours in the Cedarcrest kitchen washing, cutting, and bagging the selected vegetables. The FFA members appreciated having the opportunity to observe the district students enjoying these seasonal foods grown by committed local farmers.

Thank you to the following FFA members whose participation in the school cafeterias made this day such an enlightening and healthy success:

Alyssa Birum, Cassidy Carr, Diana Carr, Mikala Davidson, Darby Day, Nicole Hagens, Lewis Henry, Joe Kiral, Kevin Kuntz, Aaron Kussman, Sydney Lisk, Micah Mutch, Alexis Orndorf, Becca Pitts, Sterling Priebe, Nicole Roze, Ryan Steiger, Courtney Tobin, Sam Van Patten, Jared Vanhulle, Willy Wilen, Erin Young.