Riverview School District


Riverview School District School Board
Named Board of Distinction for Third Year in a Row

The Riverview School District School Board of Directors has earned Board of Distinction recognition from the Washington State School Directors' Association (WSSDA) for the third consecutive year. The Board will be honored during their 2016 WSSDA Annual Conference on November 17, 2016 in Spokane and are in contention to win School Board of the Year.

Of the 295 school district boards in the State of Washington, Riverview was one of 24 boards earning this prestigious honor. The annual Boards of Distinction program honors school boards that demonstrate effective use of the Washington School Board standards. The standards, most recently developed and adopted by WSSDA (The Washington State School Directors’ Association) in 2009, promote research-based governance practices that lead to high levels of student and district achievement, and help close the opportunity gap.

“The Riverview Board and Superintendent are committed to the mission of our district - ‘Educate Children,’ said School Board president Carol Van Noy. “We dream of a bright future for each of our students and are committed to making this happen with our Strategic Plan. The Riverview School Board is truly honored to receive the Board of Distinction award for three consecutive years.”

The Riverview School District Board of Directors consists of President Van Noy, who also serves on the WSSDA Board of Directors representing District II, Vice-President and First Congressional District Legislative Rep, Danny Edwards, Interscholastic Activities Committee member Lori Oviatt, Jodi Fletcher, Sabrina Parnell, and high school student representatives Pascal Nagata and Sophie Paradis.

Founded in 1922, WSSDA is comprised of nearly 1,500 school board members from all 295 of Washington's school districts.

Other school boards to earn Board of Distinction honors this year include: Anacortes, Auburn, Battle Ground, Bellingham, Camas, Clover Park, Crescent, Eatonville, Everett, Evergreen, Federal Way, Highline, Issaquah, Kent, Lake Washington, Olympia, Pasco, Pullman, Puyallup, Quincy, Riverview, South Whidbey, Tacoma, and Wapato.